• Group photo slideshow

    UNSW- VIRL

    UNSW - Vaccine & Infection Research Lab

    Read more
  • Aboriginal boy

    Launch of UNSW-VIRL

    UNSW - Vaccine & Infection Research Lab

    Read more
  • Elderly vaccines

    UNSW- VIRL

    UNSW - Vaccine & Infection Research Lab

    Read more

 

Prof MacIntyre speaks on vaccination gap in seniors

WATCH: World Ageing Conference - Vaccination gap in seniors

WATCH: World Ageing Conference - Vaccination gap in seniors

Listening to one of Professor Raina MacIntyre's research presentations, one has to wonder why vaccination in the elderly is not a regimented program already in place across the world.

 

We are a centre of excellence of academic research in immunisation, based at SPHCM UNSW. We are recognised international leaders in immunisation and vaccinology research.  Our largest area of strength is adult immunisation, with a focus on high risk and vulnerable populations including the elderly, migrants, refugees, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, immunosuppressed people and health workers. Our research expertise spans clinical trials, epidemiology, mathematical modeling, health economics, big data, data linkage, social and behavioural research as well as policy and evaluation. 

We conduct research, advocacy and teaching in immunisation and vaccine-preventable diseases, and provide expert consultation in this area.

From 2011-2016 many of us were part of a 5-year NHMRC Centre for Research excellence in Immunisation. UNSW VIRL builds on the work of that centre

Mission statement

To reduce the immunisation gap between adults and children through research, teaching and advocacy, with a special focus on the elderly, high risk and vulnerable populations.

The UNSW VIRL Team

Professor Raina MacIntyre

Professor Raina MacIntyre

Professor of infectious diseases epidemiology

02 9385 3811

r.macintyre@unsw.edu.au

Prof Mary Louise McLaws

Professor Mary-Louise McLaws

Professor of epidemiology

02 93852586

M.mclaws@unsw.edu.au

Prof William Rawlinson

Professor William Rawlinson

Senior Medical Virologist and the Director of Virology

+61 2 9382 9113

w.rawlinson@unsw.edu.au

Dr Abrar Chughtai

Dr Abrar Chughtai

Research Fellow

02 93851009

abrar.chughtai@unsw.edu.au

Dr Alex Rosewell

Dr Alex Rosewell

Senior Lecturer

02 93853942

a.rosewell@unsw.edu.au

Dr Anita Heywood

Dr Anita Heywood

Senior Lecturer

02 9385 3667

a.heywood@unsw.edu.au

A/Prof Anthony Newall

A/Professor Anthony Newall

Associate Professor

02 938558716

a.newall@unsw.edu.au

A/Prof Bette Liu

A/Professor Bette Liu

NHMRC Research fellow

02 9385 0546

bette.liu@unsw.edu.au

Ms Chau Bui

Ms Chau Bui

Research Assistant

+ 61 2 9385 3486

chau.bui@unsw.edu.au

A/Prof David Heslop

A/Professor David Heslop

Associate Professor

02 93853499

d.heslop@unsw.edu.au

Dr David Muscatello

Dr David Muscatello

Senior Lecturer

02 9385 8659

david.muscatello@unsw.edu.au

Mr Dillon Adam

Mr Dillon Adam

Research Officer

61 (2) 9385 3486

d.adam@unsw.edu.au

Dr Duleepa Jayasundara

Dr Duleepa Jayasundara

Postdoctoral Fellow

61 2 93858686

d.jayasundara@unsw.edu.au

A/Professor Heather Gidding

A/Professor Heather Gidding

NHMRC fellow research Fellow

02 9385 2445

hgidding@unsw.edu.au

Dr Holly Seale

Dr Holly Seale

Senior Lecturer

02 9385 3129

h.seale@unsw.edu.au

A/Professor James Wood

A/Professor James Wood

Associate professor

02 93858769

james.wood@unsw.edu.au

Dr Padmanesan Narasimhan

Dr Padmanesan Narasimhan

Associate Lecturer

02 9385 3944

Padmanesan@unsw.edu.au

Dr Josephine Reyes

Dr Josephine Reyes

Post doctoral Research Fellow

+61 (0)2 9313 6185

j.reyes@unsw.edu.au

Dr Rob Menzies

Dr Rob Menzies

Senior Lecturer

02 93853480

r.menzies@unsw.edu.au

Dr Robin Turner

Dr Robin Turner

Senior Lecturer

02 93858756

r.turner@unsw.edu.au

Dr Surendra Karki

Dr Surendra Karki

Research Fellow

93853503

s.karki@unsw.edu.au

Ms Telphia Joseph

Ms Telphia Joseph

Associate Lecturer

02 9385 3197

t.joseph@unsw.edu.au

Ms Valentina Costantino

Ms Valentina Costantino

Research Officer

61 2 93853486

v.costantino@unsw.edu.au

A/Prof Virginia Wiseman

A/Professor Virginia Wiseman

Associate Professor

02 93859801

v.wiseman@unsw.edu.au

Contact Us

Dr Rob Menzies

Dr Rob Menzies

Senior Lecturer

02 93853480

r.menzies@unsw.edu.au

Dr Elizabeth Kpozehouen

Dr Elizabeth Kpozehouen

Research Associate

02 9385 1192

e.kpozehouen@unsw.edu.au